Women in Science

A series of infographics developed to highlight Defence Research and Development Canada (DRDC)’s female team members, who are examples of women in science.  This series highlight’s Canadian women in defence science.

February 11 – International Day of Women and Girls in Science and March 8 – International Women’s Day. 

Share DRDC’s women in science content and your own content inspiring young women and girls to pursue education and careers in science using the following hashtags #CdnSci #ChooseScience #WomeninSTEM #STEM

Dr. Sanela Dursun, Director of Research – Personnel and Family Support, Defence Research and Development Canada’s Director General Military Personnel Research and Analysis (DGMPRA) Research Centre

Women in Science: Dr. Sanela Dursun - Infographic description

The infographic includes a large portrait image of Dr. Sanela Dursun from the shoulders up.

“I lead a program of research that includes domains of extreme sensitivity, high visibility, and public interest. These include psycho-social health, drug/alcohol use, sexual assault and family well-being. It is extremely rewarding to see how our scientific work impacts the well-being of CAF members and their families.” – Dr. Sanela Dursun, Director of Research – Personnel and Family Support, Defence Research and Development Canada’s Director General Military Personnel Research and Analysis (DGMPRA) Research Centre

#WomenScienceDay

Dr. Cathy Boscarino, Defence Scientist in the Individual Behaviour Performance Section, Defence Research and Development Canada’s Toronto Research Centre

Dr. Cathy Boscarino, Defence Scientist in the Individual Behaviour Performance Section, Defence Research and Development Canada’s Toronto Research Centre

Women in Science: Dr. Cathy Boscarino - Infographic description

This infographic includes a large image of Dr. Cathy Boscarino from the waist up wearing a white lab coat in a laboratory setting.

 “I have always felt passionate about improving the lives of others through medicine. When you are passionate about something, no one or anything can extinguish that fire in your belly. I feel blessed to be helping to make a difference to members of the Canadian Armed Forces” – Dr. Cathy Boscarino, Defence Scientist in the Individual Behaviour Performance Section, Defence Research and Development Canada’s Toronto Research Centre

#ChooseScience

Dr. Simona Verga, Pyscho-social Portfolio Manager, Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science.

Women in Science: Dr. Simona Verga - Infographic description

This infographic includes a large image of Dr. Simona Verga from the waist up holding a microphone and speaking at a conference.

 “After completing an undergraduate and a Master’s degree in physics in Romania, I moved to Edmonton for my Ph D. Afterwards, I joined Defence Research and Development Canada.  As a proud mother of two, one of my greatest accomplishements is finding the right balance between work and time with my children.  I’d say I’ve done a pretty good job so far. Science, technology, engineering and math careers can include the balance many women are looking for.” – Dr. Simona Verga, Pyscho-social Portfolio Manager, Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science.

#ChooseScience

Dr. Julie Lefebvre, Defence Scientist and Director General, Science and Technology Joint Force Development, Defence Research and Development Canada.

Dr. Julie Lefebvre, Defence Scientist and Director General, Science and Technology Joint Force Development, Defence Research and Development Canada.

Women in Science: Dr. Julie Lefebvre - Infographic description

This infographic includes a large image of Dr. Julie Lefebvre siting at a conference room table speaking with her staff at a meeting.

 “My career at DRDC allows me to lead innovative science teams that are working to help solve problems for the Canadian Armed Forces.” – Dr. Julie Lefebvre, Defence Scientist and Director, Science and Technology Joint Force Development, Defence Research and Development Canada.

#ChooseScience

Femmes Scientifiques

Un série des infographies a été mise au point pour mettre en lumière les femmes en science qui font partie de l’équipe de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC). Cette série souligne les femmes canadiennes en science de défense.

11 février – Journée internationale des femmes et des filles en science

8 Mars – Journée internationale de la femme 

Partagez les infographies de RDDC infographies et votre propre contenu pour inspirer les jeunes femmes et les filles à poursuivre des études et des carrières dans la science en utilisant les mots-clics suivants #CdnSci #OptezSciences #femmesenSTIM #STIM

Sanela Dursun, Ph. D., directrice de la recherche – Soutien au personnel et aux familles, centre de recherche de la Direction générale – Recherche et analyse (Personnel militaire) de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

Femmes scientifiques : Sanela Dursun, Ph. D. – Description de l’infographie

Cette infographie inclut une grande image en format portrait des épaules vers le haut de Sanela Dursun, Ph. D.

« Je dirige un programme de recherche qui englobe des domaines de nature très délicate, d’une grande visibilité et d’intérêt public, notamment la sante psychosociale, la consommation de drogues et d’alcool, les agressions sexuelles et le mieux-être familial. Il est extrêmement gratifiant de constater que nos travaux scientifiques ont une incidence sur le mieux-être des membres des FAC et de leur famille. » -- Sanela Dursun, Ph. D., directrice de la recherche – Soutien au personnel et aux familles, centre de recherche de la Direction générale – Recherche et analyse (Personnel militaire) de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

#Journée #femmesdesscience

Cathy Boscarino, PhD., scientifique de la Défense, Section du comportement et de la performance de l’individu, Centre de recherches de Toronto de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

Cathy Boscarino, PhD., scientifique de la Défense, Section du comportement et de la performance de l’individu, Centre de recherches de Toronto de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

Femmes scientifiques : Cathy Boscarino, Ph. D. – Description de l’infographie

Cette infographie inclut une grande image de la taille vers le haut de Cathy Boscarino, Ph. D., portant une robe blanche, dans un laboratoire.

« Améliorer la vie des gens grâce à la médecine m’a toujours tenu à cœur. Lorsqu’une telle passion vous anime, rien ni personne ne peut éteindre cette flamme à l’intérieur de vous. Je me sens privilégiée de contribuer à améliorer concrètement les choses pour les membres des Forces armées canadiennes. » - Cathy Boscarino, Ph. D., scientifique de la Défense, Section du comportement et de la performance de l’individu, Centre de recherches de Toronto de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

#OptezScience

Simona Verga, Ph. D., gestionnaire du portefeuille de psychosociologie, Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

Femmes scientifiques : Simona Verga, Ph. D. - Description de l’infographie

Cette infographie inclut une grande image de la taille vers le haut de Simona Verga, Ph. D., portant un microphone et parlant lors d’une conférence.

« Après avoir achevé un baccalauréat et une maitrise en physique en Roumanie, j’ai déménagé à Edmonton pour faire mon doctorat. Je me suis jointe par la suite à Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada. Comme je suis l’heureuse mère de deux enfants, l’une de mes plus grandes réalisations consiste à trouver le juste équilibre entre ma vie professionnelle et ma vie familiale. Je dirais que j’accomplis du bon travail à ce jour. Les carrières en sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques permettent cet équilibre que de nombreuses femmes recherchent. » – Simona Verga, Ph. D., gestionnaire du portefeuille de psychosociologie, Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

#OptezScience

Julie Lefebvre, Ph. D., scientifique de la Défense et directrice générale – Sciences et technologie (Développement de la Force interarmées) à Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

Julie Lefebvre, Ph. D., scientifique de la Défense et directrice générale – Sciences et technologie (Développement de la Force interarmées) à Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada

Femmes scientifiques : Julie Lefebvre, Ph. D. – Description de l’infographie

Cette infographie inclut un grand portrait de Julie Lefebvre, Ph. D., assise à une table dans une salle de conférence, et qui parle aux membres de son personnel lors d’une réunion d’équipe.

« Ma carrière au sein de RDDC me permet de diriger des équipes scientifiques novatrices œuvrant à résoudre des problèmes qui touchent les Forces armées canadiennes. » – Julie Lefebvre, Ph. D., scientifique de la Défense et directrice – Sciences et technologie (Développement de la Force interarmées) à Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada.

#OptezScience